Week 63

DSC06170%5b1%5d
So…. Oulu is SO great, and we’re SO busy that… I’ve literally not taken one picture haha… here’s some from pre-Oulu. This street…. I spent so much time here, has a very special place in my heart:)

 

DSC06178%5b1%5d

 

DSC06184%5b1%5d
One of my favorite little ladies here!

 

DSC06271%5b1%5d
My little girl:) Going to take care of Lappeenranta so well!

 

DSC06273%5b1%5d
So many sweet reunions! I love it! Transfer days are such a party! Oh and I get to see my other MTC love tomorrow in Helsinki! Sisar Cardon!! It will literally have been a year (I think to the day) since I’ve seen her! And then later on this change I’ll see Sisar Hayter as well… it’s going to be a good change!

 

DSC06288%5b1%5d

I’m literally dying!

 

Ehhhhhh….. So Oulu is Heaven! And then some!

Honestly this place is more than I could have ever imagined. It’s beyond gorgeous and has all the perks of big city life, mixed with old school architecture, and the most beautiful rivers that we get to bike across daily. It’s literally heaven. Easily my favorite city. I mean you can’t complain when one second you’re biking through cute little oma-koti (actual homes) neighborhoods, the next over a bridge, the next through a cute little market, and rivers filled with paddle-boarders, boaters, fishers, and wakeboarding parks. The past week has been constant moments of, “no…. this can’t be real life! There’s no way this is my life! I’m literally dying!”. I had no idea what I was walking into when I came here, and little did I know that the Oulu Sisters have a rep for being hard-core and oh my it’s true. My companion Sister Jacobsen is such a boss at missionary work, and just an angel all around. I adore her, and could just talk with her for days. This whole week I’ve just been able to soak in everything she does and literally try to keep up with her as she cruises through the streets of Oulu from one appointment to the next. I’ve never seen so many consecutive miracles, biked so hard, sweated so much (humidity… its a killer), been so tired, taught so much, and had so much fun along the way. Thank the heavens for angels because I don’t think I could have kept biking without them. I even ran 3 miles yesterday ya’ll… yeah I know that sounds pathetic to everyone, but I’ve never done that haha. We work so hard and the miracles and blessings just keep pouring in! I don’t know why I got so blessed to be called here, but I feel like the luckiest girl on the planet.

So many miracles… I’m sitting here trying to figure out where to even begin… and I don’t even know. All I know is that God truly does put you where you need to be and direct you as you put in your effort and preparation. I mean yesterday we had a crazy day all mapped out… we literally did nothing that we had written on that page the day before due to cancellations and whatnot. And when our final lesson with a potential door-checked us rather than letting us in, we were like ok, just means we’re going to get into a different door tonight (this was 20 minutes before the 8 o’clock hour when we have to stop knocking on doors due to Finnish laws… so yeah, this was a lofty goal considering I can count the times on one hand that I’ve gotten into a door on my mission). Well it was I think 2 doors later that we were invited in and had a lesson. Things like that just don’t happen… and we had moments like that all week! I’m literally dumbfounded with how this past week has gone, and the best part is being busy like this makes me so thirsty to always be like this. I’ve missed long (yet so short at the same time) days like this. I think the ultimate best parts of the week for me have just been the random times where you see someone’s heart just melt or take a 180. We biked past this girl who was sitting on the side of the road. She was super sweet but didn’t want really anything. Finally we just asked if we could share a passage with her (Ether 12:6) and she just broke down. She didn’t go into any detail but she just simply explained that she’d just been through something incredibly hard, and you could see it on her face the poor thing. She proceeded to tell us that what she read was exactly what she needed to hear. It’s such a blessing to be on the Lord’s work and to have moments like that where there’s nothing but the Spirit that could have helped that girl at that moment.

Ether 12:6 – And now, I, Moroni, would speak somewhat concerning these things; I would show unto the world that faith is things which are hoped for and not seen; wherefore, dispute not because ye see not, for ye receive no witness until after the trial of your faith.

This week I’ve been shown a different side to missionary work. I’ve been able to refocus on what truly matters and I’ve seen that faith really does proceed the miracles!

Love you all! Pictures were amazing like usual! And Cassidy….. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! Love you sis! Everyone be sure to spoil her to pieces!
Rakkaudella,
Sisar Carter
Leave a Reply

