Week 43

W43p1

 

W43p2
Quick shots of the city… we wandered across this cute little Swedish part of town of which this church is a part of!

 

W43p3
We tracted buildings for an hour and maybe one person answered…? So we took a break and tried to take pictures on the swings but most just turned out awkward haha. This was one of the least-awkward ones though.

 

W43p4
22:29 and still in a skirt…. and to think I thought it was going to be hard wearing skirts everyday;)

Do you want some candy…?

Moika! 

Well… sometimes I just really don’t know what to write and I have to sit back and acknowledge that another week actually has passed! Time is flying and I’m amazed at the thought that next week marks the beginning of another transfer! Which by the way means that I will be having my P-day on Monday next week as well as could be in a new city! I’m guessing I’ll be staying simply because Sister Bruce is headed home but you never know…. But back to this past week…

Last P-day we spent the day running around to different shops and little kirpis (second hand stores) searching for hand-knit socks for Sister Bruce’s family. It was quite fun and I found some really darling mittens for well…. I’m not sure yet. They’re children’s size and will probably be saved for my future child haha we’ll see. I’ve been really trying to not buy a lot because I don’t want to pack a bunch of stuff around my whole mission but these were only 2 euros… Anyway, I’ll stop rambling… That day my tooth (the one I had issues with in the MTC) started acting up again. It’s been kind of a problem my whole mission but it was pretty bad last week (has died down again since, don’t worry mom!) and lucky me I will be finding out what Finnish dentists are like probably within the next week or so! (They all look pretty sketchy from the outside, so wish me luck ha). 

We’ve also been delivering a lot of cookies to people in the ward as a “Pass It On” type thing. We initially asked some of the auxiliary leaders who they thought the “Secret Heros” in our ward were and from there we ask whoever we deliver cookies to who they think another secret hero in the ward is, and so on. It’s been fun getting to surprise (well kind of surprise because you have to call everyone and ask them to let you into their apartment building) people with cookies and just let people know that they are noticed. One of them actually turned into a dinner appointment as well which was extra fun because we got to get to know them even better! 

This week I’ve been reading a lot about Christ and specifically some of his miracles out of Jesus the Christ. I was touched by the story of him and the woman who was cleaned by touching his clothes. I loved the point that was mentioned about how she had already been made clean through Him and her faith in Him, but that still Christ sought her out, recognized her as a daughter of God, and confirmed to her that she was clean. How lucky are we that we have someone, Christ, who through spiritual promptings to us personally or through prompting another individual can confirm to our hearts that we are children of our Heavenly Father, and that we are “clean” or loved or whatever else we need confirmation of. I’ve also been studying patience and what I must do to develop this attribute more in my life. I’ve had a few thoughts on the topic, one being that the lack of patience can open the door for fear, opposition, anger, frustration, etc. I’ve seen the effects of this in my life and how instead of trusting fully in the Lord and trusting in his timing I let the fear of not knowing the language well, or being too self critical, etc. get in the way and allow those negative emotions right in. Which obviously isn’t good haha. We aught to be more focused on being patient and relying on the Lord, trusting that He knows exactly where you are in life, what you need next, and how to help you become better. Sister Bruce shared with me this quote by C.S. Lewis that I think illustrates this idea a lot better than me ha….

“Imagine yourself as a living house. God comes in to rebuild that house. At first, perhaps you can understand what He is doing. He is getting the drains right and stopping the leaks in the roof and so on; you knew that those jobs needed doing and so you are not surprised. But presently He starts knocking the house about in a way that hurts abominably and does not seem to make any sense. What on earth is He up to? The explanation is that He is building quite a different house from the one ou thought of – throwing out a new wing here, putting on an extra floor there, running up towers, making courtyards. You thought you were being made into a decent little cottage; but He is building a palace. He intends to come and live in it Himself.”

Patience can be hard, but it builds us into the person that God has the blueprints for. 

Ok… now I really have to go! I love you all and hope you have a wonderful week! Addison’s blessing looked absolutely stunning and I loved getting to hear all of you talk about it and see the pictures! Thanks for keeping me in the loop with everything and making me feel such a part of your lives! Love you all! 

Sisar Carter

P.S. Another funny contact this man totally shot us down and we must have looked sad or surprised by what he said because he was like, “Do you want some candy?!!” and then held out this massive bag of candy he had just bought at the market. haha we declined but it was just funny… I wanted to be like, Bro… we’re from America where the first thing you teach your kids are 1) the abc’s and 2) don’t take candy from strangers haha. 

Leave a Reply

