Week 23

Sushi!! We went this week with an investigator! Mmmm spicy salmon! Sooooo good!
Sushi!! We went this week with an investigator! Mmmm spicy salmon! Sooooo good!
Remember how in the movie Little Women the girl is curling here sisters hair and then all of a sudden it smells really bad and a chunk of hair is fried off of her head... well that happened to me this week. This is just a little bit of it and really doesn't look that bad cause you can't really see it but it smelt really bad all day haha and I had a dark brown spot in my hair where it had burned.
Remember how in the movie Little Women the girl is curling here sisters hair and then all of a sudden it smells really bad and a chunk of hair is fried off of her head… well that happened to me this week. This is just a little bit of it and really doesn’t look that bad cause you can’t really see it but it smelt really bad all day haha and I had a dark brown spot in my hair where it had burned.
The STL's were here this week too! Fun day doing splits with this pretty lady out in beautiful Naantali!
The STL’s were here this week too! Fun day doing splits with this pretty lady out in beautiful Naantali!
Found this cool boat museum on the river the other night.
Found this cool boat museum on the river the other night.
Darling church that we went to!
Darling church that we went to!
Language problems at Hesburger.
Language problems at Hesburger.
Another river pic.... sorry but it's too pretty to not take pictures of!
Another river pic…. sorry but it’s too pretty to not take pictures of!
Finnish blueberry pie!! a.k.a. heaven!
Finnish blueberry pie!! a.k.a. heaven!
Just cause it's pretty! Meet my new desk mate:)
Just cause it’s pretty! Meet my new desk mate:)

Well my companion got peed on by a cat on the bus…

Päivä! (day… another way to say hi)

This week was really great! We were able to have some really incredible lessons and some of our investigators came to church (that rarely happens, it was exciting) guess that’s what happens when you’re trainer outs you and practically volunteers you to give a talk in sacrament meeting! Yeah I knew it would come sooner or later… I was just hoping for later. So basically one of the members of the bishopric pulled the two of us into a room last Friday and asked if one of us could give a talk. Of course I had no idea what he was talking about, so I just smiled and nodded. Then in all the confusion she asked if I wanted to and not knowing what I was signing up for I said “Minä voin” (I can)…. immediate regret followed my response. haha. It really wasn’t that bad I suppose. I wish I would have had more than a day to prep for it but oh well! It didn’t go too bad and people said that they could understand me so that was a success. Funny thing is Finnish is so hard that even the Finns don’t just get up and talk, everyone writes their talks and reads them. So I didn’t look to bad as I just sat up there and read word for word my talk pretending that my legs weren’t shaking behind the pulpit. So… when Sisar Lafferty had a cat pee on her the other day I wasn’t super sorry for her (karma for making me give the talk ha). It was kinda sad actually this woman got on the bus with all these bags and her cat, kind of looked like she may have just gotten kicked out of her home cause she had random living supplies. So Sisar Lafferty offered to hold her cat while she got everything situated. The cat got nervous… and yeah you know the rest. Super cool though cause you would have never known it happened. She put on such a good face about it all!

Saturday we spent the day with one of our investigators and went to this really cool church where she was married. It was really charming. Before going inside we walked around the grounds (graveyard) and looked at all the really old gravestones. It was beautiful! One thing that I love about Finland are their cemeteries. They’re always outside churches, which makes it feel less scary graveyard-like because it’s next to a gorgeous church. They also maintain it really well and there’s always beautiful flowers, lanterns with candles, and and pretty landscaping. After we finished there we went and grabbed some lunch really quickly at Hesburger (the McDonalds of Finland… which actually was founded in Turku, fun fact!). It was really good minus the fact that I had another language mishap where I ended up ordering 3 meals for my companion and I… yeah I’m fired from ordering ever again haha. When she brought out three drinks I was like, ehhhhh oh crap. Then three fries, ah! crap crap! And then three burgers, oh man it’s a good thing missionaries are blessed with being able to eat a lot of food in one sitting (side note I’ve become a pro at this haha. Didn’t think it was possible but I’m able to pound those 2nd and 3rd helpings. Mission weight is real folks:( haha).

Oh and lastly I’ve got something kinda fun for you all this week. One of the other sister missionaries got this recipe for blueberry pie from a member and so I thought I’d share it with you all! It’s not like american pie, but its SO good! Probably one of my favorite deserts ever and really easy to make! So here goes!

(Crust)

100 g soft butter

2 dl sugar

+Mix these two until they get “fluffy”

Add 4 dl flour (little more or little less depending on what you think, we did about 4 and it was great)

1 tsp salt

+Add these to the butter and sugar mixture

1 egg

+Add this to the mixture by hand not beater, don’t mix for too long. Then press this into a lightly greased pan and put it in the oven for 10 minutes at 200 degrees celsius (sorry everything is in European measurements, I didn’t have time to convert it all so you’ll have to google it:) sorry!)

 

(Berry Part)

300 g frozen blueberries

1 dl sugar

1 tbls vanilla sugar (or 1/2 tsp vanilla extract if you can’t find vanilla sugar)

3-4 tbls cornstarch (if you use fresh instead of frozen blueberries you don’t need to add this)

+Mix all this together and then once the crust has been in for 10 min take it out, spread the mixture on top of it and then put it back in the oven for 17-20 minutes.


+Serve with fresh whipped cream or ice cream!

This recipe is seriously heaven! And that’s coming from a girl who doesn’t like baked fruit or blueberries really. Enjoy!

I love you all and hope you have an incredible week! This gospel is so true and so special, thanks for all the love and support and don’t forget to spoil Daddio this week! Happy Birthday old fart;) (haha I said that just for you Mom, cause I know you’re thinking “I didn’t raise my child to use that kind of language!” ha!)

Rakaudella,

Sisar Carter

Leave a Reply

