Week 22

Guys.... the Fazer cafe opened!!! Can you say Heaven on Earth!!
Guys…. the Fazer cafe opened!!! Can you say Heaven on Earth!!
When you find an old broken cookie that you forgot about cause you stashed it in your purse when you were literally going to burst if you ate anything else... missionary life.
When you find an old broken cookie that you forgot about cause you stashed it in your purse when you were literally going to burst if you ate anything else… missionary life.
Hello beautiful!!! (Naantali, my love!)
Hello beautiful!!! (Naantali, my love!)

W22p9

haha... I'm lucky she puts up with me;)
haha… I’m lucky she puts up with me;)

W22p6

Sunset in Turku!
Sunset in Turku!
Oh yeah, and see this.... this is a VERY blurry picture of the northern lights!! They were really faint because of all the city lights so I really hope I get to see them again at some point and get a good picture. Cause this picture is pathetic haha. But still pretty cool that I kinda saw them:)
Oh yeah, and see this…. this is a VERY blurry picture of the northern lights!! They were really faint because of all the city lights so I really hope I get to see them again at some point and get a good picture. Cause this picture is pathetic haha. But still pretty cool that I kinda saw them:)

Doors actually do open!

Moika, moika, moi…

So much to fill you all in on, but so little time. This week has definitely been a blessing. I have been able to re-kindle my love and appreciation for missionary work. When you’re in a place where nearly everyone knows your language but you hardly know their’s it can be quite intimidating to speak. I mean granted not everyone knows English but especially in Turku (and other southern Finland cities) many do. I find myself at a loss for words a lot and this whole awkward language barrier can sometimes create a literal barrier when trying to create relationships with others in their native tongue. Being embarrassed to speak can make it easy to slip into the background and let your companion do all the talking (which sadly I’ve done more than I’d like to admit). Even without the language barrier it’s awkward and hard to go up to people or knock on a door and be like, “hey, want to know about our church?”…

All of that can feel quite hard, but then there are weeks like this week where among all the door slams and “ei kiitos” (no thank you) you run into someone who immediately let’s you in. I can’t lie I was beginning to think that the day would never come when someone would let us in right away but it did! Twice actually! Both times I was so shocked (I’m sure my face was priceless). I’ve never been so proud to be wearing a tag and representing someone that has brought me countless blessings. It was actually quite beautiful because one of the people that let us into their home did so only because of those small black tags. Something that usually makes people look at us funny when we’re walking down the street or close the door quickly was actually the only thing that made this specific person open the door. Knowing that we were trust worthy and that it was safe to open the door. I’ve never felt so proud or grateful to be wearing that small name tag.

My love for the work was also re-kindled as I read some of the stories that my Dad and Grandmother gathered for me about my ancestors. I had no idea what beautiful people I came from. It was remarkable to hear the stories of their conversions and how much they mirrored some of my investigators in thought and action. It gave me the hope and knowledge again that every encounter with someone I meet here in Finland is sacred, and even if it’s a no to me and my companion, it might not be to the next set of missionaries they meet. I am who I am because of missionaries who didn’t give up when the got dis-enchanted with missionary work. I am so grateful for my sweet relatives and the path that they set for my life long before I came to earth. Truly such a blessing to come from such spiritual giants that had doubts and concerns but followed their hearts and trusted their gut!

Love this gospel and all the blessings that come from it. It changes generations! Hope you all are enjoying the fall weather for me. I’m trying to enjoy the sunlight as much as I can right now cause apparently in a month from now it will be dark dark dark!! And stay that way till February or later depending on where in Finland I am then! Oh baby not sure if I’m ready for all that! ha

Love you all! Have a beautiful week!

Rakaudella,

Sisar Carter

Leave a Reply

