Week 19

 W19p1

W19p2
Can’t wait to see these cute homes popping out against the white snow!
W19p3
Onnea Turrun Päivää!
W19p4
Found a new feature on my camera this week… don’t judge, sometimes you have to find new ways to entertain yourself ha. Kinda fun though…
W19p5
Chillin’ the Snoopy way. (Or I just kinda look dead… haha)
W19p6
Getting up was much worse… but getting down was still really awkward… pencil skirts, why you gotta be so hard to work with.
finding small treasures everywhere we go (this was one of the littlest of the bunch!)
finding small treasures everywhere we go (this was one of the littlest of the bunch!)

W19p8

Climbing Snoop houses and pencil skirts… it just doesn’t work well.

Moi Perhe…

This week has been interesting as usual and went way too quickly. We are seeing a lot of really cool things happening and I’m really excited to see what this next week brings. Finland had a strike last weekend where all the public transportation country wide was supposed to be shut down… but it really didn’t happen… It was definitely spotty but overall we were still able to get everywhere we needed to go. It was cute to watch the members take care of us though. One couple had said she would bring us dinner, to our surprise when we went to meet her at the church she had a full meal ready and set up in one of the classrooms! It was incredibly cute and oh my SO good. We’ve had salmon with a few different members here so far, and it’s always by far my favorite!! The Finns know how to cook salmon that’s for sure!

Also to our surprise this past Sunday was Turku Day! We were walking back to our apartment when all of a sudden we heard loud booms echoing back and forth against the buildings. When we finally realized what was going on we hurried down to the river where a huge group had come to watch the fireworks. It was a really fun surprise to end our Sunday and they were really beautiful! Can’t beat watching fireworks on the bank of a river where ships and bridges are lit up as well.

Probably one of my favorite things I get to do as a missionary is walk… sounds funny maybe but it is. As much as I miss my GPS and how handy it would be at times I really do like having to rely on a map and finding (well getting lost and then finding) my way to places. It allows me to see some really pretty streets full of brightly colored homes, walk through forests, see incredible architecture and meet some really cool people along the way! Plus you get to just walk and talk. I’ve loved the conversations that Sisar Lafferty and I have had on our walks. — Oh funny story we were on our way to an old investigators home to try and meet with them again and we took this cute little path to cut through to where we needed to be. There was an old man walking a little ways in front of us who walked over to a log, and sat his bag down. We were both thinking, awe how cute! He’s going to sit down and have a lunch break or something… Wrong… wrong… we passed and then looked back and realized it was definitely a bathroom break rather than a lunch break. Awkward… ha I would think he was probably like oh crap why did they have to follow me… but then I remembered it was Finland and these people have no shame. Whatsoever.

I’ve begun reading Jesus the Christ and Sisar Lafferty is a good chunk of the way in already and shares with me what she’s reading. It’s easily becoming a new favorite book of mine and I would highly recommend it to anyone. The way that James E. Talmage thinks about these stories and various concepts is incredible! Sisar Lafferty is reading all through the different parables Christ taught right now… they’re lovely! He thinks of things in a way I would never have and I love that! I was also studying knowledge out of the Christ-like attributes section in Preach My Gospel… I’ve been thinking about the idea of “knowledge” a lot lately and while it is very important it can also be damaging if you become too prideful in what you know… but this week the idea came to me on how knowledge is nothing without a pure understanding of that knowledge… and for me that “understanding” is rooted in the Holy Ghost. Without understanding what we are learning it is merely hollow information, but when we seek to understand what we’re learning it takes on a new and substantial meaning. For example when you are young and taught 2 plus 2 equals 4 it would be easy for the teacher to just say that’s how it is because it’s right and have the children just memorize this concept, but that’s not how it’s done. A teacher to young children would usually explain this principle by possibly showing the kids 2 different sets of apples or blocks or something and then asking them to count all of them… 1, 2, 3, 4. Then the children can see and know for sure that in fact 2 plus 2 equals 4. That way mathematics isn’t just a lot of memorization and there is an understanding to support the facts. So why would it be any different when we try to learn now? We can take for fact that Christ and God and these other things are true because there are various amounts of evidence and people that say its so, but that knowledge is hallow until we find out for ourselves and allow the Holy Ghost to bare witness that it is real and true. Idk… just my thoughts for the week. Here are also some scriptures that stood out to me relating to the topic too…

D&C 9:7-8

7 Behold, you have not understood; you have supposed that I would give it unto you, when you took no thought save it was to ask me.

8 But, behold, I say unto you, that you must study it out in your mind; then you must ask me if it be right, and if it is right I will cause that your bosom shall burn within you; therefore, you shall feel that it is right.

Alma 17:2-3

2 Now these sons of Mosiah were with Alma at the time the angel first appeared unto him; therefore Alma did rejoice exceedingly to see his brethren; and what added more to his joy, they were still his brethren in the Lord; yea, and they had waxed strong in the knowledge of the truth; for they were men of a sound understanding and they had searched the scriptures diligently, that they might know the word of God.

3 But this is not all; they had given themselves to much prayer, and fasting; therefore they had the spirit of prophecy, and the spirit of revelation and when they taught, they taught with power and authority of God.

Sorry to write for so long this week… I didn’t really know what to write and have more time than usual this week. Hope you all have an incredible week and please say an extra prayer for my investigators again. They’re wonderful people and need all the lovin’ they can get this week! (Ahh, I really wish I could tell you all more about them!)

Love you all!

-Sisar Carter

P.S. So the whole snoopy house thing… We were taking a quick break at a playground/making some phone calls and of course I was like… I wanna climb that (that being this little red playhouse). Then I realized it looked like the snoopy house and I HAD to climb it now… it was simply a must do;) I’m glad there is no evidence of me actually attempting to get up it because it wasn’t pretty… because of my pencil skirt and flat soled flats I just had to sit there helpless for a second on the side of the house trying to hold on as I and Sisar Lafferty died of laughter. It was funny… but hey I got up there and that’s what matters:)

 
Leave a Reply

