Week 17

Nanntalli! My new love!
Nanntalli! My new love!
Sisar Lafferty dying of laughter at one of the many stupid things I did. Guys... I'm not a funny person, I just do and say a lot of stupid things haha.
Sisar Lafferty dying of laughter at one of the many stupid things I did. Guys… I’m not a funny person, I just do and say a lot of stupid things haha.
Strolling the beautiful streets in Naantalli! Love this cute lil' town!
Strolling the beautiful streets in Naantalli! Love this cute lil’ town!
gangster tights... read below
Gangster tights… read below ūüėČ

To all you gangsters out there…

Terve! …. It’s cold here… and it’s only September.

Oh my, I’m not going to make it! Ok ok it’s not too bad yet but it’s definitely layer weather already (well at least for me, all the Finns are still just wearing a light jacket, I’m a wimp). This week has been kinda crazy. We’re still trying to get adjusted to having such a huge area to cover, but I think it’s going to be manageable. We met with some of the investigators that the elders were working with before they left and everyone is really amazing! They all have such unique and beautiful stories, but they’re stories for another time. It’s so hard because I want to share all that is happening but like I kinda mentioned last week there’s not too much I can say concerning those we’re teaching. At least not specifics… which I can respect because these are people’s lives… their stories are special and personal and should be respected:) It’s really cool to see how the church is blessing some of their lives though. It truly is a beautiful experience to watch how a belief in Christ and a growing to know that he is there for us in every situation can truly change someone’s life. I will also say that gaining a testimony can also be filled with it’s own set of trials. I can say from experience that when we search for enlightenment and the truth the adversary tends to work it’s hardest on us, giving us doubts and concerns. I’m not sure if I’ve already shared this scripture with you all but regardless it’s a beautiful scripture and I think illustrates the point beautifully… Romans 8:35-39:

35 Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword?

36 As it is written, For thy sake we are killed all the day long; we are accounted as sheep for the slaughter.

37 Nay, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him that loved us.

38 For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come,

39 Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

We are being worked on hard core, especially when we are close to truth. Like this scripture illustrates we are like sheep waiting for the slaughter, we are “killed” all the day long. But regardless of all that because of Christ we are conquerors! We can overcome all the doubts and hard times that come our way because He is on our side. I’m seeing a lot of success but it’s not without effort on their part, I feel so lucky to watch these people become¬†“conquerors”, and show them that they are strong and that Christ loves them. I can see a distinct difference in my life when I acknowledge him and allow him to be a part of me. That’s why I am out here serving a mission… I want others to know that as well. Being a missionary is beautiful and although it’s cold here and somedays I just really wish I could go hiking, design something, or even veg-out and watch netflix (pathetic I know lol), I am reminded how lucky I am when I knock on that one door where someone takes the time to chat with us and I can see that they feel something different. These people are incredible! I am blessed everyday from getting to talk and learn from them, and little do they realize just how much some of the small interactions have meant to me…¬†Say an extra prayer for my investigators this week. They’re all so strong they’re definitely being worked on as well.

Much love and so grateful for all the fun letters this week!

-Sisar Carter

P.S. So…. about my subject line… ha oh boy… so yesterday we went out tracting. I grabbed a new pair of tights that I hadn’t used yet and they were a little short… but I was like whatever, it will be fine…. it wasn’t fine… nothing about it was fine haha. The entire day I spent pulling them back up until finally I gave in and just let them do their thing. No one could tell obviously because of my skirt but the top of them were at my thighs, not my waist…. lets just say I now know how it feels to be a punk kid who wears his pants reallll low haha (kohl I don’t know how you did it back in the day;) jk jk). It was super uncomfortable haha and those tights are now donated to the apartment for future missionaries!

Leave a Reply

