Week 16

 

Exhibit 1... Of why I say I live in a movie... this is the kind of beauty I'm surrounded by every day!
Exhibit 1… Of why I say I live in a movie… this is the kind of beauty I’m surrounded by every day!
We finally went to this church last p-day! It's what Turku is known for and on all the Turku postcards!
We finally went to this church last p-day! It’s what Turku is known for and on all the Turku postcards!
​The ceiling was incredible!!
​The ceiling was incredible!!
W16p4
Church candles
Cool area we found when we once again got lost:)
Cool area we found when we once again got lost:)
The old district... they said to do a serious face... I took it a little too literally ha. oops...
The old district… they said to do a serious face… I took it a little too literally ha. oops…
After 5 weeks of searching I found it!!!
After 5 weeks of searching I found it!!!
Really cool thing about Finland I found out this week. Finns are really honest and good people. I've seen this shoe a few times now in a couple different places so I finally asked Sisar Lafferty about it. She told me that when something like that is lost people will put it places (like on this fence) so that the owner will hopefully find it again! Sisar Lafferty actually lost a jacket one day and when she retracked her steps she found it folded on a window seal. Ah so cool!
Really cool thing about Finland I found out this week. Finns are really honest and good people. I’ve seen this shoe a few times now in a couple different places so I finally asked Sisar Lafferty about it. She told me that when something like that is lost people will put it places (like on this fence) so that the owner will hopefully find it again! Sisar Lafferty actually lost a jacket one day and when she retracked her steps she found it folded on a window seal. Ah so cool!
It had been a long day... so we treated ourselves to dinner at the river at this cute flat bread pizza place we had our eyes on... It was heaven! (once again... my life is like a movie ha)
It had been a long day… so we treated ourselves to dinner at the river at this cute flat bread pizza place we had our eyes on… It was heaven! (once again… my life is like a movie ha)
Gotta love all dat green!
Gotta love all dat green!

Sometimes… it feels like I like I live in a movie…

Terve!

This week was fantastic! There’s a lot going on and a lot of major changes coming our way! First off we got change calls! Sisar Lafferty and I are luckily staying right here in Turku for at least one more change:) Which I’m very excited about. I love this city and would have been really sad to already leave. The crazy part is we are loosing the elders in our ward which means we inherited their entire area as well! a.k.a. a LOT more area to cover and all of their current investigators. Since we shotgunned our current area and have only been here for 5 weeks instead of the normal 9 we were just barely beginning to feel comfortable with what we had, and now we’re doubling that! Ha, I love it! I’m actually really excited because the areas we gained are really pretty and more along the coastal area so hopefully we’ll get to go and see the Baltic Sea again soon! It’s also really exciting because our we’re getting one of the elders from my 2nd MTC district! All the newbies arrive today and it will be fun to see some familiar faces again!!

It’s starting to get cold her and the days are definitely starting to shorten. As much as I hate Winter I’m really excited to see it at such an extreme! To the point where there’s frost on my hair and all you can see are my eyes haha. It’s going to be an adventure. Finland is seriously so ideal! I am blown away by it’s beauty everyday and constantly am asking myself, “is this real life??”. It feels like I’m in a movie. I mean how can it not when you’re walking on paths that weave in and out of dense trees that tower over you, or when you’re walking along a river at dusk and the lights on the boats are glistening on the water with the sound of someone playing a flute or some other kind of instrument down the way… It may sound a little too good to be true, but that’s because it is. Days are still stressful and long sometimes but ultimately I have it REALLY good! I’ve never been surrounded by so much constant beauty!

Yesterday was one of those days that were pretty remarkable (and movie-like). We got lost of course on our way to meet with this girl we met on Sunday. We wandered around until we finally found our way. Then we walked to her house and sat on the back patio, drank freshly squeezed juice from berries in her yard and talked and enjoyed the most remarkable view. Seriously though her home is placed in some of the most beautiful landscape I’ve every seen. This girl is something special… I wish I could give all the details of those I meet and teach… but I do have to keep it somewhat vague (sorry, Finnish protection laws and stuff). Let’s just say this girl is prepared! Everything we talked with her about felt really right to her (like Sisar Lafferty and I were like what??? This doesn’t happen ha). Who knows what will happen but I’m really excited for her, and especially because this is something she really wants and feels to be true! It’s cool to bond with someone over something that is so close to your heart, which this gospel is. I feel so blessed to be sharing a message so lovely and pure with some of the most kind and sincere people I’ve every met! Regardless of what happens I know that she’ll be one I want to keep in touch with, she’s super rad! Has a fantastic personality, and is really into art and yoga (super talented at both! She showed us her portfolio… it’s incredible!). Basically I adore her!

Love you all!! HAPPY BIRTHDAY to my sweet Hudson Man! Make sure everyone gives him a squeeze for me! Thanks for all the love and support everyone gives me!

-Sisar Carter

Leave a Reply

