Week 13

The library here is seriously so rad... chillin in a bubble! Doesn't get better than that.
The library here is seriously so rad… chillin in a bubble! Doesn’t get better than that.
Super Finnish snack... It's basically rye bread filled with rice (or other things depending on which kind you get), then you top it with ham, cheese, lettuce, tomato, etc. We also made this other cream type stuff that we put chocolate and fresh berries from the outdoor market in... That was heaven!
Super Finnish snack… It’s basically rye bread filled with rice (or other things depending on which kind you get), then you top it with ham, cheese, lettuce, tomato, etc. We also made this other cream type stuff that we put chocolate and fresh berries from the outdoor market in… That was heaven!
Someday I'll get a chance to photograph just how beautiful this city is... but for now here's a quick snapshot of the river. It's huge and runs down the center of Turku... it's about a block from our home so we luckily get to walk next to it all the time!
Someday I’ll get a chance to photograph just how beautiful this city is… but for now here’s a quick snapshot of the river. It’s huge and runs down the center of Turku… it’s about a block from our home so we luckily get to walk next to it all the time!

I speak Finglish and Funny Faces

Voi etta!! (Oh brother) What a week! I’m in awe that it’s already time to be writing again! I’m actually writing a day early (my P-day is actually Tuesday just FYI, I know some people had asked about that) because we’re taking the train back to Helsinki tonight for Interim. I am so excited to go and see all my MTC district tonight! It’s going to be an incredible week, best part is we get to go to the Helsinki Temple…. but you’ll get to hear about all that next week!

This week was really quite incredible… every day there is something incredible that happens. Which totally sounds kinda cheesy I know, but it’s true! We meet all sorts of people with astounding backgrounds and stories. We actually met one lady who is simply astounding. We’ve become really good friends with her and the really beautiful thing is that even though we’re technically teaching her, she’s teaching me! It’s been cool to see just how special these people are and how quickly you can fall in love with them. We were also able to go and have lunch with our Piispa (Bishop) and his family this week. He has 5 little kids they are all so adorable. One of the biggest blessings of being out of the MTC is being around families and kids again. Makes me miss Hudson a lot more, but it’s really fun nonetheless. I of course could barely communicate with them (but let’s get real, Finnish is really hard, even for Finns… their Mom even said she doesn’t understand what they’re saying half the time), but luckily funny faces are a universal language ha.

One common theme I’ve realized more and more since being here is just how important it is to love people regardless of who they are, or what their religious background is. I’ve been really impressed with people who are not even of my faith but still support me and tell me that what I am doing is good. I love that even though we may not go to the same church house we can bond on the fact that we’re all going the same direction in life and that we can support one another in those efforts. We actually went to the New Apostle church on Sunday with one of our investigators (that’s the church she attends). It was a small congregation, with us we made a group of about 8 people in all… I was so impressed with how loving they were towards us. We even spoke with their preacher afterwards and he told us that he has actually met and spoken with missionaries before and that he thinks we’re good people. In this day and age we should support anyone who is searching for truth.

Sorry this week is a little dry… there’s a LOT that has happened, but I just don’t have the time to write! I love you all! The letters and pictures are fantastic! Also, I don’t have time to read letters while I’m at the library and print them off and read them later so let me know if you need something responded to immediately or if I forget to respond to a question… sorry still just trying to figure all this out!

Love you!

Sisar Carter

Leave a Reply

