Week 10

I adore this lady right here and so glad I got to spend these last couple months so close to her before we are halfway around the world from each other! I love that I got to see her come in and leave, she's going to be such an incredible missionary and friend to the people in Korea!
I adore this lady right here and so glad I got to spend these last couple months so close to her before we are halfway around the world from each other! I love that I got to see her come in and leave, she’s going to be such an incredible missionary and friend to the people in Korea!
​Just going on a pleasant Sunday night bike ride with these hunks!
​Just going on a pleasant Sunday night bike ride with these hunks!
The last of the ladies! We've gone from an all lady zone to just us 4 and 22 elders!
The last of the ladies! We’ve gone from an all lady zone to just us 4 and 22 elders!
Emergan-C, Herbs, Cough Drops, and Tissues (I've already been through a couple boxes) have been my life the past couple days!
Emergan-C, Herbs, Cough Drops, and Tissues (I’ve already been through a couple boxes) have been my life the past couple days!

They call me Kasialma‏

Moi!

Mmmmmk first off….. YEAHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!! Lil’ Baby Carter is a GIRL!!! Probably the best news of my week for sure!! So glad I was “technically” the first one to know even though I actually didn’t get the dear elder until Tuesday… because of the whole visa thing my letters have been arriving a day after you all send them. But just knowing that I was supposedly the first to know is good enough for me! And, sorry but I must say I called it! 2 for 2 on my gender guesses! Knowing the gender definitely makes it all more real, and makes me so excited for Christmas to come when I can Skype with you all and meet her!

So this week hasn’t been all too exciting… I honestly don’t even really remember what happened. Like I said last week I pretty much just sit in the Finnish room and read my grammar book. It really hasn’t been all that bad except for the last few days. For some reason they have just felt sooooo long! I also got a cold so it’s been hard trying to stay focused when all my body wants to do is sleep. I’ve been downing herbs though so I’m hoping it will all pass within the next day or so. I’ve officially become kasialma (bag lady) / Momma Carter to the New Finns and a couple others in our zone… So back story on being called kasialma… There is no Finnish word for “please” (The Finns are apparently very blunt/direct people, which I love), so before the new Finns arrived my old district decided that we would find a random word and tell them that it meant “please”. So of course kasialma was the winner! Last week when I was sitting in on the new Finn’s class one of them used what they thought was please when talking to the teacher. Of course the teacher was like what the?? The kid looked at me like “kasialma right??”… needless to say I couldn’t keep it together and already felt bad for the other trick I’d pulled a few days earlier and fessed up that we were just messing with them… So now they call me Kasialma… a.k.a. bag lady.

As far as the Visa goes they really haven’t been able to give me an explanation beyond they’re still just waiting for it to get here from the Finnish Consulate in LA. It’s times like this that I really miss having the freedom to call for myself and be the one to figure out exactly what is going on instead of going through all sorts of middle men. They’ve been in contact with my mission president though and he was wanting me to first fly out yesterday and then no later than today… but since there’s still no word I’m guessing the earliest will be Saturday… or who knows maybe I’ll just be at the MTC for the rest of my time! Wouldn’t that just be the greatest!!

I wish I had more for you all but like I said it really hasn’t been all that interesting of a week… So that’s that! Hopefully I’ll be calling you from an airport somewhere in the next day or so! Love you all and so thankful for all your love this past weeks! Helps so much!!

Rakkaus,

Sisar Carter

Leave a Reply

