Week 8

Moving Day! (again...)
Moving Day! (again…)
Yeah... she dropped her ID in the toilet... all of a sudden we heard someone down the hall say
Yeah… she dropped her ID in the toilet… all of a sudden we heard someone down the hall say “OH NO!” haha
We were all meant to be Finns!
We were all meant to be Finns!
Can't find the pillow room...? Just make one instead!
Can’t find the pillow room…? Just make one instead!
​I just have to include this one... mainly cause of Sisar Hayter (in the moose jammies) face!
​I just have to include this one… mainly cause of Sisar Hayter (in the moose jammies) face!
​Pillows for days! (We had to stash them in here during the day ha)
​Pillows for days! (We had to stash them in here during the day ha)
The faces of very happy sisters! Flight plans makes every week here worth it!
The faces of very happy sisters! Flight plans makes every week here worth it!
Cause girls will be girls.... (this is what happens when you're here this long!)
Cause girls will be girls…. (this is what happens when you’re here this long!)
Oh and I almost forgot to mention... Sunday during sacrament the fire alarm went off ha. Everyone was evacuated, but not until they sang the musical number... priorities, right?!
Oh and I almost forgot to mention… Sunday during sacrament the fire alarm went off ha. Everyone was evacuated, but not until they sang the musical number… priorities, right?!
Spent our last P-Day eating sack lunches out on the grass and eating all our junk food people have sent us and we don't want to pack to Finland with us... going to miss these elders!
Spent our last P-Day eating sack lunches out on the grass and eating all our junk food people have sent us and we don’t want to pack to Finland with us… going to miss these elders!

We made it into the newspaper!!

Terve!

Soooo this week was full of a lot of excitement, definitely a good way to spend your last week in America! First off right after I finished emailing last week we had to go to an emergency meeting with just the sisters (granted we were all hoping it was because we were going to hear from an apostle since they were all here for the week). But no, of course not… it was because they had found a bat in our beautiful new home of 17M and they were evacuating us… right then and there. They literally said go and start packing ha. And apparently the story of our evacuation made it into the newspaper which I find especially hilarious! So…. our beautiful stay at the new and improved residence halls only lasted a week, and we’ve spent the last week back in our old residence where there are boogers on the walls, and every companionship shares a closet:) But it’s all good, it was pretty funny actually. In the meeting after they told us we were moving there was one sister who yelled out, “Wait! Who’s going to carry our luggage up the stairs?!” (the new residence had elevators). But oh my gosh I just about died haha. It’s girls like that, that give women a bad name, I just wanted to be like, “Homegirl?? really??? you carry it yourself!” haha.

Oh and the thing that makes that story all the more worse is the day before we had found a utility closet full of pillows and had planned to make our pillow room attack later that same night… but of course couldn’t now because we were literally evacuated and there was security helping people get out of the residence hall… BUT we made the best of a sad situation and let’s just say our new home of 3M had a lot of empty rooms that weren’t going to be filled till the following wednesday… so of course Sisar Toomey and I ran and gathered all the pillows we could and hid them in our room. Three days later we made a pillow room/fort of our own ha (it’s amazing the things you start to do/start to think are funny after you’ve been here for so long!). So, although we didn’t quite find the pillow room, I still feel like we succeeded if not made it better!

Last Friday was a glorious day as well! We got our travel plans!!!! We have to be to the travel office by 3:30 Monday morning and then we travel from SLC to Houston, Houston to London (London guys!! I’m so excited, even though it’s only the airport, it’s London!), and then London to Finland! I seriously can not wait. I don’t feel ready by any means language wise but I feel so ready to just be there. It’s been a long, but enjoyable two months and I’m ready to start my new adventure over there!

The Albanian sisters left this week which just leaves the Hungarians and us Finns (a.k.a. the “Funns” as my companion calls us). We also met the new Finns who are replacing us here at the MTC last night. They got to come in a week early and Sisar Toomey, myself, and the Zone Leaders got to host them. It was a pretty great night and they’re all so great. It’s 8 elders and 1 sister… quite the contrast from our group of 6 ladies. The one solo sister is such a sweetie and I hope that I get to serve with her at some point. She’s from Bountiful actually. It’s kinda cool to look around at various districts and how all the girls have similar personalities. I definitely think Heavenly Father knows what he’s doing cause he put all really cool, and down to earth girls all together. That doesn’t happen, usually there’s at least one or two that are really girlie, or just plain drama.

Last night was also really cool because we got to be part of this demo teaching thing they do with the the newbie’s every Wednesday. Basically they have various investigators (sometimes they really are investigators, and sometimes they’re converts, but even then they play who they were before the missionaries began teaching them) each in a room with 40 or so new missionaries, then my companion and I come in just simply begin the conversation. We get to know the person and just set it up so that after about 5 minutes the new missionaries take over the discussion. Even though it was kinda pretend, it was such a cool experience to be with these people and hear their stories. It was only 5 minutes but I already felt such a love for these people. That sounds so cheesy I know but it really just gave me a glimpse of what my life is going to be like in a few days and I can’t wait to get out and talk to people and hear their stories. I can’t wait to share why I believe what I believe and why Christ means so much to me. I can’t wait for them to know that there is someone out there that understands them fully and loves them unconditionally and is always there for them. Knowing that Christ knows and loves me personally is what truly has gotten me through various events in life. I feel so lucky to spread such an incredible message, a message centered on love!

Love you all! Thanks for all the letters they make my day! This week MTC, next week FINLAND!!

Rakaus!

-Sisar Carter

Week 8 Part 2 – Wellllll…

So… I received some bad news late last night. Apparently my visa didn’t come or something like that so I will not be leaving with the rest of my group on Monday. I don’t really have any other information besides that ha. They literally just gave me a paper and that said my visa didn’t arrive and that’s it. I’m going to try to find other information today but just wanted to let you know.

I’m obviously pretty disappointed, largely because I was so excited to travel with my district and share the experience of arriving in Finland together but everything happens for a reason and I know that I’m on Heavenly Father’s time so everything will work out for the best. Anyway just wanted to let you know so you aren’t surprised when you don’t hear from me on Monday.

Love you all!

ffeess

sefsef

Leave a Reply

