Week 7

​Our last day getting the mail:( This was my favorite part of the day... but oh well, now we get to enjoy a different calling. (Which I'm actually really excited for because we get to help get things ready for the newbie Finns coming in next week!)
​Our last day getting the mail:( This was my favorite part of the day… but oh well, now we get to enjoy a different calling. (Which I’m actually really excited for because we get to help get things ready for the newbie Finns coming in next week!)
W7p2
Ohhhhhh dentist drama…
Ok... it's kinda hard to see but this is my smokin' hot mouth guard!! - And we kinda stole some mini chapsticks... successful day for sure!
Ok… it’s kinda hard to see but this is my smokin’ hot mouth guard!! – And we kinda stole some mini chapsticks… successful day for sure!
Most of our cute zone! Love these people!
Most of our cute zone! Love these people!
When hair fails go right... I was getting bored with my hair and attempted to be cute and do a little braid headband... but it kept flopping down... so I got to look like a princess instead.
When hair fails go right… I was getting bored with my hair and attempted to be cute and do a little braid headband… but it kept flopping down… so I got to look like a princess instead.

 

Ehhhh back up buddy… you’re spitting on me…

Moi! Moi! Moi!

Soooo this week was a blur…. thinking back on it it’s really hard to decipher what was this week and what was 3 weeks ago. It makes me think that next week (my final week!!) is either going to fly by or drag on forever!! So tomorrow we get our flight plans… TOMORROW!! and we’ll be in single digits for our departure. Thinking about leaving is so exciting but it’s been dawning on my the past couple of days just how much I’m going to miss these girls. We’ve become a family. Even our branch presidency has told us on multiple occasions that we’re the most bonded district they’ve seen. I don’t know how I got so lucky but I know that it’s not just by chance I was put with these sisters. I love seeing that we really are on the Lord’s time… I would have never met any of these girls if I would have left a couple years ago when the first impression to serve came. That among so many others things have confirmed to me that Heavenly Father truly is aware of us and if we are willing to follow his time table he’s going to direct us. I came on my mission not understanding “why” I was supposed to serve… and even though I’ve only been out 2 months Heavenly Father has already revealed some good reasons for why I’m supposed to serve, and supposed to serve right now.

Well among other things this week my companion and I got to go to the outside world this week! Unfortunately it was to go see the dentist (sorry if that phone call freaked you out Mom, oops!). I’ve had a tooth ache for quite a while now and I figured I better go and get it checked out before I head to Finland. We were taken to a dentist down by Fat Cats bowling in Provo… mmmmk let me paint this picture for you. We walk in and these were the decorations… A collage of various Bambi/Prophet pictures… Sisar Toomey and I just looked at each other like of course they’d send us to this dentist, you can’t get more MTC appropriate than that. The dentist checked out my teeth and he thinks that there are just a lot of little things that are aggravating it (my toothpaste – I guess toothpaste with whitener can aggravate fillings sometimes, as well as stress, a.k.a. Finnish, go figure right?), but the good news is everything looks really healthy. They also gave me this really cute mouth guard to wear at night so I don’t clench my teeth… makes me look smokin’ hot for sure;) Kidding kidding kidding!! Oh yeah and the best thing about going to the dentist…. for sure getting spit on. So the dentist was pretty old, and I don’t know if he just doesn’t realize it but he spits when he talks… let’s just say I was in the splash zone… and it wasn’t pleasant.

So cool part of having all this dental stress is actually what happened outside of the dental office. After meeting with the first dentist I was still feeling really stressed about the whole situation because when my mouth has hurt like this in the past it’s meant a root canal and I’d much rather get everything taken care of before getting to the field. So anyway, I got a strong impression the other night that I should get a blessing concerning everything. Luckily we have incredible zone leaders and even though they haven’t given many blessings they happily gave me one. It was so tender and simple and exactly what I needed to give me some peace concerning not only everything mouth wise but also the mission/life in general. The priesthood is so real and so powerful. I am grateful to have moments like that when I can tell that Heavenly Father is so near.

Ok, a really cool thing that is happening this week (not sure if I’ve already mentioned this so sorry if I have) is the MTC is having it’s yearly Mission President Training. Which means that we have all of the First Presidency and Quorum of the Twelve on campus. Granted security is on high alert so it’s not like we’ve seen any of them, but most likely we will be hearing from an apostle and maybe even the Prophet at our Sunday Devotional… I mean chances are it probably won’t be President Monson but hey a girl can dream. It’s cool just to know that they’re here though.

Alright… well I’m out… love you all and thanks for all the sweet letters and notes. They’re what keep me going some days:)

Love you all!!

Rakkaus,
Sisar Carter
Leave a Reply

