Week 5

All of the sisters! We were an all sister group for a couple of days before the new Huns came... now we have two more sisters and five elders. The new Huns are so great! It's been fun watching them break out of their shells this past week!
All of the sisters! We were an all sister group for a couple of days before the new Huns came… now we have two more sisters and five elders. The new Huns are so great! It’s been fun watching them break out of their shells this past week!
Awkward selfies... every week! Gotta love it:) Each companionship accidentally on purpose dressed as twins one day this week. (I'll try to send the group photo!)
Awkward selfies… every week! Gotta love it:) Each companionship accidentally on purpose dressed as twins one day this week. (I’ll try to send the group photo!)
Some days are really really rough.... so you sneak into the cafeteria after hours and get ice cream sandwichs. It's their own faults for leaving the door unlocked! ha.
Some days are really really rough…. so you sneak into the cafeteria after hours and get ice cream sandwichs. It’s their own faults for leaving the door unlocked! ha.

Mice and sister missionaries don’t really mix…

Moi Minun Ystävä ja Perhe!
(Hey my Friends and Family!)

So I may have had a small panic moment yesterday…. In 3 weeks and 4 days I will be on a plane… to Finland!! And guess what!! I don’t know Finnish! What a joy, what a joy haha. I know that the language will come but it’s hard not to freak out every now and then. We still haven’t even made it through all of our cases yet, and yesterday we learned that 6 of the cases we’ve already learned has 2-3 other uses besides the use we were already taught… I don’t know if that makes much sense but basically we still have a LONG way to go in such a short amount of time.

Your letters and packages seriously bring more joy than you’ll ever know. Kohl, Cam, I feel really bad now not writing you on your missions. Both of you have already written me more than I ever wrote you ha. Please forgive me! I was called to be the STL of our branch this week for the remainder of our time her… which pretty much means I just get the mail, so really it’s not that cool… but it seriously has been so fun doing it this week and almost everyday having a dear elder or cute lil package from you guys (Judi came to my hummus need rescue, thanks over and over again! and the cliff bars mom, seriously they save my life! It’s so nice having some real food!). I feel so incredibly blessed to be so loved, don’t know how I ever got so lucky!!

It’s funny, sometimes I forget about the age difference because my district really is quite mature. But then they start talking about high school stories and I have to be like “well, back in my day when I was in High School and none of you were…” or it also becomes really apparent when all of them see other missionaries that they recognize from school and the only people I randomly recognize are the teachers (really though yesterday I saw an employee walking around and realized that I knew him, he graduated after me and is now back and teaching here… ehhhh epamukava (awkward)).

So… last Friday night we had a little bit of excitement! We were all getting ready for bed in the bathroom when my companion, Sisar Toomey, came walking in and said guys I’m pretty sure a mouse just ran into your room (the other Finns room. There’s Sisar Toomey and I in one room, and the other 4 Finns in the other. Except for we all sleep in the same room now cause Sisar Toomey and I were always in there anyway, we just keep our clothing and stuff in our room). Well anyway, no one believed her because she’s always trying to pull stuff on us and then she got serious and was like, “no there really is. I saw it trying to run into our room and so I scared it out and it ran into yours”. So, still no one really believed her but we all went in to see just in case. We began moving luggage around because she thought it was under one of the beds and of course out darted the little guy and he ran to the next set of bunk beds! Oh my goodness I’ve never seen so many girls scream and jump onto beds/desks/chairs so fast in my life haha. It was pretty great. You had the one girl who had no mercy, and then another who was about to cry because the poor little guy was probably scared and had a family somewhere (true words by Sisar Thayne, probably one of the sweetest girls I know and is always so caring of every little thing). So I grabbed the trashcan and Sisar Clark and I attempted to find/catch the little guy. It was touch and go for a while (we actually thought at one point we had accidently squished him behind the fridge, luckily we didn’t though! Oh and side note – because of this night we’re having to get rid of the fridge, we currently still have it but probably not for very long). We finally found him and were trying to get him out from a bed when he darted right past us and out the door… poor little guy hasn’t been seen since. All in all it was a pretty funny night and what I’ve written can’t even do it justice. We have pictures on another sister’s camera so I’ll try to send some later today.

I’m blanking on all the other cool experiences that happened this week so I’ll just sign off with this… Sister Burton the Relief Society President spoke at our devotional this week and she referenced this from Elder Packer’s talk this last conference and I just really thought it was beautiful. She said that she was actually the speaker right after him and that she had to watch the teleprompter to know just when to go down for her talk. Well these last paragraphs were not the original paragraphs he had prepared. This section of his talk was all on the spot and apparently just a point that the Holy Ghost had prompted him to say right then and there… probably because it’s something that I and many others needed to hear. Anyway I just pulled it off lds.org real quick and here it is if you want to read it:)

I bear witness that Jesus is the Christ and the Son of the living God. He stands at the head of the Church.Through His Atonement and the power of the priesthood, families which are begun in mortality can be together through the eternities. The Atonement,which can reclaim each one of us, bears no scars. That means that no matter what we have done or where we have been or how something happened, if we truly repent, He has promised that He would atone. And when He atoned, that settled that. There are so many of us who are thrashing around, as it were, with feelings of guilt, not knowing quite how to escape. You escape by accepting the Atonement of Christ, and all that was heartache can turn to beauty and love and eternity.

I am so grateful for the blessings of the Lord Jesus Christ, for the power of procreation, for the power of redemption, for the Atonement—the Atonement which can wash clean every stain no matter how difficult or how long or how many times repeated. The Atonement can put you free again to move forward, cleanly and worthily, to pursue that path that you have chosen in life.

I bear witness that God lives, that Jesus is the Christ,that the Atonement is not a general thing that is for the whole Church. The Atonement is individual, and if you have something that is bothering you—sometimes so long ago you can hardly remember it—put the Atonement to work. It will clean it up, and you, as does He, will remember your sins no more. In the name of Jesus Christ, amen.

I love you all so much! Thanks for the wonderful examples you all are and for constantly supporting me!

Rakkaus!

-Sisar Carter

Leave a Reply

