Week 4

Finnish studies got you bein' like.... but at least it's outside!
Finnish studies got you bein’ like…. but at least it’s outside!
We had to say goodbye to some pretty amazing people this week... Going to miss our Huns!! (Huns - All the boys, Sister Levanen (cutie with the fringe bangs), Sister Adams (back left), Sister Jarrett (left, green skirt, brown top))
We had to say goodbye to some pretty amazing people this week… Going to miss our Huns!! (Huns – All the boys, Sister Levanen (cutie with the fringe bangs), Sister Adams (back left), Sister Jarrett (left, green skirt, brown top))
Miss that lovely lady in the middle! (Sisar Hyde on the left:) But I don't have to say bye to her! She's Finland bound too)
Miss that lovely lady in the middle! (Sisar Hyde on the left:) But I don’t have to say bye to her! She’s Finland bound too)
I miss this gal so much, one of the funniest girls I know (we were laughing in this), she wasn't into the whole touching thing. Gotta abide by that white bible!
I miss this gal so much, one of the funniest girls I know (we were laughing in this), she wasn’t into the whole touching thing. Gotta abide by that white bible!
 Week 4 - tuhat yhdeksansantayhdeksankymmentakaksi Actions   Karissa Carter  Add to contacts  6/04/15   Keep this message at the top of your inbox  Photos To: Danielle Leavitt, Steve Carter, Amber Bruderer, Judith Carter, cmariecarter, Kohl Carter, Cameron Carter, Tanya Jensen, ayana915@msn.com karissa.carter@myldsmail.net   There are bins of unwanted
There are bins of unwanted “goods” on every floor in every residence building… sooooo sometimes we go shopping haha.

tuhat yhedksansantayhdeksankymmentakaksi

Friends and Family!

I can’t believe another week has already come and gone. I’ve decided that I’m just going to stop trying to keep track of time here… it’s not even worth it ha. In just a couple of days I’ll have hit my halfway mark of my MTC experience! Blows my mind that I’m already at this point, it blows my mind even more that in just over a month I will be in beautiful Finland!! I can’t even let myself think about it, I’m so excited!

I feel like everyday there are so many funny and random things that happen, but every time I sit down to write I forget it all… So I figured I would just tell ya a little bit about my daily routine this week. Most days (probably 5 out of the 7) I roll out of bed at 5:45 and go with some of the sisters in my district to early morning sister’s only gym. They have various classes everyday (toning, pilates, zumba, yoga, etc) and let’s just put it this way… they’re VERY entertaining. They aren’t always very difficult but when you get to listen to almost techno/lounge music and do super rad “granny” zumba moves, you just can’t complain. (No offense to all my grannies out there but I just don’t know how else to describe these classes, I mean we’re doing the disco for heaven’s sake! haha).

Afterwards we hurry and get ready for the day and then head to breakfast. Which usually consists of granola and hard boiled eggs… the least artificial things they serve for breakfast. (Like I’ve said the food is a lot better than I expected but it’s getting rough ha. So if anyone wants to sneak me in hummus in a wheat thins box with some carrots and wheat thins I wouldn’t be mad… just sayin;) plus the Huns left us their fridge that was never returned back after someone’s surgery months ago so we can have perishable things now!)

We then go to class and “speak” Finnish/look at our teacher with a blank face for 3+ hours, go to lunch, and then go back and do that again! It’s quite the day! haha. I actually really love our teachers. They’re all such sweet hearts and super funny. They have told our branch president that we’re all (suprisingly) doing really well with the language which was nice to hear, especially since we’re all so hard on ourselves. One of our subs is actually from Finland and preparing to be a full time teacher here. She’s so great and tells us about Finland whenever she teaches. The longer we’re here the closer we’ve gotten to our teachers… we’re even in the works of setting one of them up with one of the sister’s brothers (when you’re in an all lady district that’s just what happens).

Around 3:30 we have gym and go play volleyball, softball, or just lay in the grass. It’s nice to have that break and be able to unwind a little (although we still try to speak as much Finnish still… can’t take a break from that).

After gym we grab dinner AND THEN study more Finnish… shocking I know! We also have time to prepare our lesson for our Finnish investigators (aka our teachers, soon we’ll be skyping with people though!). We also eat a lot of candy during these last few hours/try to not fully loose our minds. It’s pretty great;)

Once it hits 9:15 we all come back together do our “warm fuzzies” (we write down nice/funny things that people say or do) and pray together. Then at that point it’s time to hurry and get back to residence for bed.

So, I know you’re probably all thinking I just slammed on my keyboard for the subject line of this email but no…. that right there… is Finnish. Welcome to my life! This week we learned how to say when our birthday is… well folks right there is how you say 1992 (tuhat yhdeksansantayhdeksankymmentakaksi). Fun right??! haha. Even though it’s pretty gnarly the language is going well. Some days I feel pretty discouraged but then there are other days like on Tuesday that I walk out of a lesson super pumped. Tuesday was probably the first time that I didn’t really have to use any notes and understood most of what the investigator said… it’s was a pretty cool experience… granted I haven’t had another day like that since and I know I didn’t conjugate much correctly but it gives me hope! I could almost translate Dad’s note this week… something about having faith in the gift of tongues and that he doesn’t know how to say something in Finnish…? I’m not quite sure and have no idea what aavistustakaan is…. sorry, don’t have my dictionary with me ha.

We had to amazing speakers this week… Janice Kapp Perry and Todd D. Christopherson. Janice was so cute! She told the story of how here and her husband met. They were in the same music class and were getting ready for a clarinet test. Her now husband leaned over to here and said, “I bet those lips can do better things than play the clarinet.” haha it was so funny, the reaction of all the audience (and her husband) was priceless! He stood up from his chair immediately and walked right over to the stand to try and set the story straight… when she wouldn’t let him have the mic he just went in for the kill and planted a kiss on her right then. It was pretty cute not going to lie. They’re relationship is something special, you could just see how much the loved and cared for one another!

Well… it’s time for me to sign off! I love you all and love hearing what everyone is up to! Even if I don’t get a chance to write back to you just know how much you’re loved and how much I think about all of you daily (in-between all the Finnish;). Things are going well here and I’m going to bed everynight exhausted both physically and spiritually!

Rakkaus!

-Sisar Carter

Leave a Reply

